Ton Ton Takeaway, Regent Place, Sydney

20 Apr

On my many visits to Japan, trying different types of ramens was always on the top of my food-tinery. In my last 2 visits, I was introduced to Ippudo ramen which I can confidently say “Is the best ramen EVER!”. In my plight to fill up the void Ippudo ramen has left in my stomach, I’ve been scouring the streets of Sydney to find the perfect bowl. What separates a good bowl of ramen from a great bowl of ramen is the soup base and the type of noodle they use. My favourite (Ippudo) is Hakata style which originates from Fukuoka in Kyushu of Japan. They use pork (tonkotsu) soup with rather thin, flat noodles and would be served with freshly crushed garlic and pickled mustard greens.

Ton Ton Takeaway  is first cab off the rank and is situated on Ground Floor of Regent Place next to the cinemas on George St, strategically placed opposite Azuma Patisserie in case you were looking for something sweet after your ramen fix.  Ton Ton is one of many offshoot of Azuma restaurants, serving 12 different varities of ramen along with Japanese staples like donburi, teriyaki and curry dishes.

Kogashi Ninniku Ramen

I tried the Kogashi Ninniku Ramen with extra corn. It is black seasame soy flavoured soup with pork slices and vegetables. I thought there would be more of a black seasame taste coming through from the black sauce around the pork slices but it looked more appealing than it tasted. The soup I found a little too salty for my liking but the noodles itself was very chewy and curly.

Mr Dough tried the Ton Ton Ramen which is their special Tonkotsu soup with pork. The soup was very milky and gelatinous and you could tell many hours/pork bones went into the soup base to create this beautiful cloudy white colour. He too found the soup to be a little too salty.

I can never pass up gyoza in any Japanese restaurant. The skin is very thin and pan fried crispy, with the filling consisting of pork mince and cabbage.

Cheated but not defeated, I walked away with a frown on my face, failing my mission to find the Sydney version of Ippudo ramen. Stay tuned for my next ramen mission!

Ton Ton Regent

Ground Floor
501 George St
Sydney 2000

Ph: 02 9267 1313

http://www.tontontakeaway.com.au

2 Responses to “Ton Ton Takeaway, Regent Place, Sydney”

  1. Colin Canfield (@colinc) December 10, 2012 at 6:24 pm #

    Hi, I’ve been enjoying reading your blog. Do you know there is now an Ippudo in Sydney in Westfield ?

    ps. Spare a thought for those us in Brisbane, so far I have only found two good Ramen shops in the whole city!

    • Melissa December 10, 2012 at 9:46 pm #

      Hi there!
      Thanks for your compliments! In fact I just went to try out ippudo on the weekend and it is very very good! Watch out for the post….

Leave a Reply

